Originally called Queen’s University, the college was built in 1845 and is part of the National University of Ireland. The Gothic Revival quadrangle, the Honan Chapel and the Aula Maxima (Great Hall) are the oldest parts of the university. Another highlight is the Glucksman Gallery, named for American philanthropist Lewis Glucksman. The gallery promotes the research, creation and exploration of the visual arts. It also houses an excellent riverside café and gallery shop. The visitors’ center, Experience UCC, gives walking tours of the campus. Call ahead for tour information.