Thu: 10 AM to 8 PM
The Altes Museum – the Museum of Antiquities - is one of five museums on what is known as Museum Island on the River Spree in Berlin. Designed by Berlin’s architect, Karl Friedrich Schinkel, the Greek-style museum was built over a span of five years and was completed in 1830. The beautiful building with its 18 fluted ionic columns, grand staircase was based on the Pantheon in Rome, encircling two large courtyards and a two-story rotunda containing sculptures of the gods of antiquity along its walls. It was destroyed in World War II (1943 – 44) when a tank truck exploded in front of it. Following the war, the museum was rebuilt and opened, once again, in 1966. Today, visitors can enjoy the world-famous collection of Greek, Etruscan and Roman art.